Tag Archives: book

Romford Football Club Volume 3: 1945–1959

Romford Football Club Volume 3: 1945–1959

Romford Football Club Volume 3: 1945–1959

This third instalment of John Haley and Terry Felton’s monumental history of Romford FC begins with its rebuilding after World War Two and goes through to the decision to turn professional in 1959.

We re-live the most glorious day in the club’s history – appearing in the 1949 FA Amateur Cup Final against Bromley at Wembley in front of over 94,000 spectators.

Statistics include first team, reserve team, A team and minor team results, line-ups, goal scorers, league tables, attendances and gate receipts. Club archives such as minute books, annual reports and photographs give us behind-the-scenes news and views.

Plus a 24-page 1949 Amateur Cup special feature.

We discover:

  • How speedway nearly made it to Brooklands in 1948 – scuppered by just one vote! We also find out about 1930s speedway team the Romford Rommers.
  • Chelsea, Tottenham and Arsenal ‘A’ teams all beaten as Romford lift the East Anglian Cup amid euphoric scenes.
  • Romford’s FA Cup giant-killing over Gillingham on live TV in 1948.
  • Brooklands closed by the FA due to hooliganism.
  • A record crowd of over 17,000 at Brooklands for a Cup replay.
  • The big question debated in the boardroom – stay amateur or turn professional?

(Text from the back cover.)

Available from Swan Books Upminster,  Amazon and ‘all good bookshops’.

Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history

Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a historyThe London Borough of Havering Library Service is pleased to announce the publication of a new book Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history by Simon Donoghue and Don Tait.

On 25 November 1948 the first permanent house on the London County Council Harold Hill estate, in Romford, was handed over to its first tenants. The ceremony marked the arrival of thousands of Londoners to what was then a rural corner of Romford.

Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history traces the origins of Harold Hill and the history of the manors, farms and residents of Noak Hill, Romford Common and the old ward of Harold Wood. The book also tells the stories of visitors such as George Fox, founder of the ‘Quakers’ and the famous diarist Samuel Pepys.

The story continues with the building of Harold Hill and explores the experiences of the early residents, the development of the schools, shops, churches, pubs and industry and the people who brought them to life and established Harold Hill as a place on the map with its own unique identity in the London Borough of Havering.

Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history is illustrated with over 300 maps, prints, photographs and documents.

For full details and how to buy the book please see the attached document.

Harold Hill and Noak Hill – a history handbill