On 25 November 1948 the first permanent house on the London County Council Harold Hill estate, in Romford, was handed over to its first tenants. The ceremony marked the arrival of thousands of Londoners to what was then a rural corner of Romford.
Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history traces the origins of Harold Hill and the history of the manors, farms and residents of Noak Hill, Romford Common and the old ward of Harold Wood. The book also tells the stories of visitors such as George Fox, founder of the ‘Quakers’ and the famous diarist Samuel Pepys.
The story continues with the building of Harold Hill and explores the experiences of the early residents, the development of the schools, shops, churches, pubs and industry and the people who brought them to life and established Harold Hill as a place on the map with its own unique identity in the London Borough of Havering.
Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history is illustrated with over 300 maps, prints, photographs and documents.
For full details and how to buy the book please see the attached document.